011. SUPER JUNIOR’s New Release “Sexy, Free and Single”

SM Entertainment just released SUPER JUNIOR’s title single off their upcoming 6th album, “Sexy, Free and Single”.  As a grammar nerd, the title bugs me a little because I’m part of the pro-Oxford Comma faction of writers/readers, but that has nothing to do with this post 🙂

Actually, this post is about my thoughts on the video released for “Sexy, Free and Single” as a fan of SUPER JUNIOR!  And of course I’m super-excited because it’s the first video in 2 years to have one of my favorites of the group, Kangin, back from his mandatory military service!

Sexy, Free and Single

I have to admit that while I like the song and it’s catchy, SUPER JUNIOR has begun to sound rather repetitive to me with their lead releases off their albums, ever since their super-hit “Sorry, Sorry”.  When I listen to “Sorry, Sorry”, “Bonamana”, “Mr. Simple”, and now “Sexy, Free and Single” all in succession, I begin to feel like I’m listening to a rehashing of the same song over and over again, just in different styles.  I love SuJu, but I wish SM Ent. would work a little on producing more memorable/distinguishable songs for the boys.  It’s difficult, of course, to produce a more original hit song for a group of over 10 guys, but not impossible.

I have to admit that I actually really like the vid’s setup.  As always, there are some crazy costumes, but they sort of make sense.  The one more original element to “Sexy, Free and Single” both as a song and video is the futuristic feel.  The arrangement of the song sounds almost eerie/intimidating/inescapable with the driving beat and pressing bass, and the concept of having the guys in very strange, almost alien wardrobe and hairstyles is an interesting idea.

Siwon, Futuristic/Alien clothes

Normally I don’t really get the costume changes pop stars use in their dance videos, but this time I kind of get it.  The guys start out in relatively normal clothes, like here…

Opening sequence, normal clothes

And then we see individual shots of each guy in both some kind of suit (SM Ent. knows how good SuJu looks in suits!) and then in crazy clothes.  It sort of feels like they’re saying that yes, they’re right here, right NOW, but they are also driving towards the future and they want us to come along.

Leeteuk, Alien/Futuristic clothes

Sungmin, Alien/Futuristic clothes

Be honest, who doesn’t want to tag along with Super Junior to move to the future?

What’s interesting about the video is that as a fan of Kangin, I was waiting and waiting for him to have his part in the video, curious about how he would fit in with the guys again, now that he’s returned.  He’s always been the sort of macho member of the group – on the bigger side and with a face more akin to a drama actor than that of the current Kpop boyband trend.  I admit that he looks slightly out of place because he’s clearly bulked up even more from his military training, but he and the rest are doing their best to camouflage him back into the group.

Kangin, “Oh, hai thurr, I’m back :-* “

I’m really interested in seeing Kangin in a TV show with the rest to see the group dynamic.  Something like Super Junior’s old TV show “Explorations of the Human Body” would be good to see.  Before he left, the younger guys like Siwon, Donghae, and Kyuhyun were just beginning to come into their own, while the oldest 5-6 (Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Kangin, Hankyung, and Shindong) were basically the leaders.  Within the same month, SuJu lost both Hankyung and Kangin, and Kangin now returns to the group after Heechul has left to complete his own mandatory military service.

Also, I had to give a shout-out to Eunhyuk and his awesome/fun dance moves!  He’s always been a favorite of mine in the group because he’s so silly but serious at the same time 🙂  AND he’s a great dancer!!

Hi, I’m Eunhyuk!

… 😉

The one thing I thought looked weird was the sequence of showing the guys in random poses flashing by.  What are they, holograms caught in space-time??

Donghae is frozen…in the future!

Anyway, I’m actually really excited for the new album, as the last albums had more ballad-y songs that showed off Yesung, Kyuhyun, and Ryeowook.  While I love to dance, I also love to listen to some good singing, too!  So I’ve attached SM Ent.’s preview for the new album, too!  Enjoy!

It looks like they were going for a very artsy, gender-ambiguous photo shoot concept for the album…  Interesting for a boyband to do so, but also kind of cool!

What do you guys think?  Are you as curious and excited as I am?!

Hugs & kimchi,

Annie

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

