002A. Fanime Convention 2012 – San Jose, CA – 5.25-5.28

Hi Kelli here!

Two weekends ago was the Fanime Convention! The convention whose slogan is “By Fans, For Fans”. For those who don’t know what Fanime is, it is an Anime Convention for enthusiasts of Anime and Asian pop culture. I have never been to one of these conventions before. And to be honest probably would have never imagined going until recently. I will admit, I was a little closed minded and misinformed about what this convention was. I thought, It’s for Anime lovers doing “Anime things”, whatever that means. I am not and have never really be interested in watching Anime or reading Manga, so I didn’t really have any interest in going. But I had a sudden change of heart and a growing curiosity that led me to go wait in the registration line on Sunday.

Art in Artist Alley

If you have never been to one of these conventions, the registration line is a trip all by itself. I was nervous at first, but I started to get really into seeing everyone cosplay. I was just amazed to see how much effort people put into their outfits. It was also exciting to  be able to identify some of the cosplays, especially since I don’t watch anime or read manga. So, Annie and I decided that if we go back next year, we are cosplaying! I haven’t figured out what I want to do yet, but have some ideas on the table.

Cosplay

The gaming room was an interesting experience. Mostly table top gaming and  video gaming. I originally had it in my mind that it was going to be a bunch of DDR battles. I know, worst stereo-typing ever. Stage Zero had plenty of entertainment to keep people’s interest. I got to see a charity auction, a couple of audience participation games and a Anime Music Video Awards ceremony. The Music Video part, was my favorite part, hands down. I never realized how beautifully edited some of these videos were. My favorite video, I must share, is “Skrillex MEP”. This was stuck in my head a couple of days after the convention. It even makes me want to start watching the Anime (“Highschool of the Dead”), just because.

So overall, I give the experience an A! I look forward to going back next year, but this time join in on the cosplay. Any ideas what I should go as?

– Hugs & Kimichi-
Kelli

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

